

*The Advocate Summer 2021* 

There are many NCPEID members making noteworthy contributions to the profession. One of the greatest honors an individual can receive is to be recognized by his/her peers. Below are the list of NCPEID awardees from this year's summer conference. Please take a moment to recognize the excellent work these individuals have made within their respective fields.

<u>G. Lawrence Rarick Research Award:</u> The G. Lawrence Rarick Research Award recognizes individuals for their scholarly contribution through distinguished research in the area of physical education or physical activity for individuals with disabilities.



Ali Brian, Ph.D. is an Associate Professor in the Department of Physical Education at University of South Carolina (UofSC). Dr. Brian's research interests include the assessment and evaluation of underlying mechanisms of all children's motor development and intervention on said mechanisms through the Successful Kinesthetic Instruction for Preschoolers (SKIP) intervention. She has over 82 scholarly publications and 160 presentations in adapted physical education and motor development. To continue her line of research, Dr. Brian has received over a million dollars in external and internal funding. Additionally, Dr. Brian has received several awards designated for scholars in adapted physical education, including the *David P. Beaver* 



Young Scholar Award from NCPEID, the Early Career Distinguished Scholar Award from NASPSPA, Two Thumbs up Award from the UofSC Office of Disability Services, the Breakthrough Star Award and the College of Education Early Career Research Award from the UofSC. She is also the Research Director for the Institute of Movement Studies for Individuals with Visual Impairments. NCPEID is pleased to announce Dr. Ali Brian as the recipient of the G. Lawrence Rarick Research Award.

<u>David P. Beaver Young Scholar Award:</u> The G. Lawrence Rarick Research Award recognizes individuals for their scholarly contribution through distinguished research in the area of physical education or physical activity for individuals with disabilities.



**Scott McNamara, Ph.D.** is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Kinesiology at The University of New Hampshire. Dr. McNamara completed his doctorate in 2018 at Texas Woman's University in the short time since the completion of his degree he has steadily built his scholarship with published 34 peer-reviewed publications, 68 presentations, and the recipient of several small grants to support research and programing. Similar to Dr. Beaver's philosophy of filling the gap of literature in adapted physical activity, Dr. McNamara has not only successfully published in several high-impact journals but is filling the void for accessible disability awareness and information dissemination through his podcast *What's New in APE*. As written and emphasized in his external letters of support, "I believe Dr. McNamara to be a an exceptional young professional, who has the potential to make significant and lasting



contributions to the field of APA." NCPEID is pleased to announce Dr. Scott McNamara as the recipient of the David P. Beaver APA Professional Young Scholar Award.

<u>Hollis Fait Scholarly Award:</u> The Hollis Fait Scholarly Contribution Award recognizes an outstanding professional for their distinguished record of scholarly productivity in the area of physical education and/or physical activity for individuals with disabilities.



**Samuel R. Hodge, Ph.D.** is a Professor in the Department of Human Sciences at The Ohio State University. Dr. Hodge is well-recognized for his work and significant contributions to the field of adapted physical education, especially focused on culturally relevant pedagogy, social inclusion of students with disabilities, and dissemination of knowledge on teaching physical education students with disabilities in international countries. His scholarly work includes over 100 publications, 8 books/monographs, 25 book chapters, and over 100 national and international presentations. Additionally, serves on the editorial board of flagship journals such as Adapted Physical Activity Quarterly for 19 years. Dr. Hodge has also served at The Ohio State as the Faculty Fellow Appointment for the Office of Diversity and Inclusion, Assistant Dean of Equity and Diversity, Coordinator of Equity and Diversity, and Diversity Coordinator. As stated by a past student in one of his numerous external letters of support, "I want to emphasize that many of Dr. Hodge's former graduate students would say the same thing that I am: we would not be where we are today without Dr. Hodge's instruction, guidance, and friendship." NCPEID is pleased to announce Dr. Samuel R. Hodge as the recipient of the Hollis Fait Scholarly Award.



<u>William H. Hillman Distinguished Service Award:</u> *The William A. Hillman Distinguished* Service Award recognizes an outstanding professional for their exemplary record of service.



**Dallas J. Jackson, Ph.D.** is an Associate Professor in the Department of Physical and Health Education at Slippery Rock University. Dr. Jackson has displayed distinguished and sustained service in adapted physical education and activity through his local, state, and national work, especially in his presidency and other service to the National Consortium for Physical Education for Individuals with Disabilities (NCPEID), directing the Kids In Action program for the past decade, and involvement in SHAPE America Adapted Physical Education Special Interest Group. The Kids In Action program is an afterschool physical activity program for children with disabilities and their siblings between the ages of 5-12 years. Additionally, Dr. Jackson has served as a reviewer for many leading peer reviewed journals including Adapted Physical Activity Quarterly and Palestra. Dr. Jackson exemplifies the work of a distinguished service professional, as stated in his external letter of support, "He continues to work tirelessly to maintain the website and answer all questions related to the organization given his institutional knowledge." NCPEID is pleased to announce Dr. Dallas J. Jackson as the recipient of the William H. Hillman Distinguished Service Award.