11th NCPEID APE Collaborative (December 2022)

Click to Join

The NCPEID APE Collaborative will be Friday, December 2 @ 9-11am PST; 11am-1pm CT; 12-2pm EST with Cynthia D. Vargas, F3 Law, Managing Partner. She will discuss "Legally Defensible IEPs." Zoom link below; picture attached. There is a QR code to ask questions in advance- please integrate this into the graphic. 


 

10th NCPEID APE Collaborative (October 2022)

Click to watch the collaborative

Check the PowerPoint slides of the collaborative!

Heidi's slides

Steve's slides

The 10th NCPEID APE Collaborative was held October 27 @ 9am PST; 11pm CST; 12pm EST.  Our guests were Heidi Ambrosius (Moreno Valley USD; California) and Steve Eggerichs (School District of Holeman; Wisconsin). The panels discussed preschool and post secondary/transition in APE.


9th NCPEID APE Collaborative (September 2022)

Click to Listen

The ninth APE collaborative was held on Thursday, September 29th at 10am PST; 12pm CT; 1pm EST. David Geslak and Kelly Bonner were the invited speakers of the event. 


8th NCPEID APE Collaborative (May 2022)

Click to listen

The eighth APE collaborative was held on Friday, May 6 at 9am PST; 11am CT; 12pm EST. Dr. Monica Lepore presented on Adapted Aquatics, and Ann Griffin discussed APE teaching tips.


 

7th NCPEID APE Collaborative (April 2022)

Click to Listen

The seventh APE collaborative was held on Friday, April 22 @ 9am PST; 11am CT; 12pm EST.
Topics: Selecting an APA Doctoral Program (Drs. JK Yun & Justin Haegele) and Zoom Breakout rooms to discuss current topics in APE/A


6th NCPEID APE Collaborative (March 2022)

Click to listen

The sixth APE collaborative series was held on Tuesday, March 22 @ 9am PST; 11am CT; 12pm EST. The collaborative featured a panel of experts in the Adapted Physical Activity (APA) field discussing what’s going on in the field of physical education from services & programs to inclusion and support, and how these compare from a North American context to a European context.


5th NCPEID APE Collaborative (February 2022)

Click to listen & materials

The fifth APE collaborative series was held Thursday, February 3rd @ 10am PST; 12pm CT; 1pm EST. The collaborative featured Dr. Rebecca Lytle from Cal State University-Chico and Diane Musser from Melrose County School District, CO. Topics included OSEP Grant writing and APE program funding. 


 4th NCPEID APE Collaborative (December 2021)

Click to listen

The fourth APE collaborative series was held Tuesday, Dec 14 @ 9am PST; 11am CT; 12pm EST. Dr. Dale Ulrich from the University of Michigan and Tonya Moore from the Los Angeles County Office of Education talked about assessment in the adapted physical education area.


 3rd NCPEID APE Collaborative (November 2021)

Click to Listen

The third APE Collaborative was held Tuesday, Nov 9 @ 9am PST; 11am CT; 12pm EST. Dr. Luis Columna from the University of Wisconsin-Madison discussed the importance of family in promoting physical activity of individuals with disabilities. There was a time to chat with APE colleagues regarding hot topics and issues in the field.


 

2nd NCPEID APE Collaborative (October 2021)

Click to Listen

The second NCPEID APE Collaborative was held Thursday, October 21 @ 9am PST; 11am CST; 12pm EST.  The collaborative featured Dr. Suzanna Dillon from Texas Woman's University and Chair of NCPEID's Advocacy committee who discussed Advocacy Strategies for APE Programs. Her co-presenter, Brad Weiner, APE Educational Specialist for Fairfax County Public Schools, provided information on Teaching Tips from a National APE TOY. 


1st NCPEID APE Collaborative (September 2021)

Click to Listen

The first NCPEID APE Collaborative was successfully held Thursday, September 30 @ 11am PST; 1pm CT; 2pm EST.  Dr. Garth Tymeson (Emeritus Professor UW- LaCrosse) provided insightful discussion about the recent Dear Colleague Letter indicating related services (e.g., physical therapy, occupational therapy) can not be substituted for APE. Then, Dr. Ali Brian (Associate Professor, University of South Carolina) provided research tips to improve APE manuscripts.