Standing Committees

The NCPEID bylaws identify and provide guidelines for six standing committees. NCPEID's standing committees include the adapted physical education national standards (APENS) committee, awards committee, legislative committee, membership committee, nominations and elections committee, and annual conference planning committee. Committee members are either appointed by the president or elected by the membership.

What do the Standing Committees do?

The committees are comprised of a committee chair and two-to-four additional members. Each committee engages in work related to their specific committee charge that ultimately advances NCPEID's mission. 

What is the term of a Standing Committee member?

Committee members on the APENS committee, nominations and elections committee, and the annual conference planning committee serve two-year terms. Committee members on the awards committee, legislative committee, and membership committee serve three-year terms.

APENS Committee

The charge of the APENS Committee includes updating policies, implementing and continuing APENS activity under the guidance of the committee chair.

  • Suzanna Dillon (Executive Director), Texas Woman's University, TX
  • Tim Davis (Chair), State University of New York college at Cortland, NY
  • Leah Goudy, University of North Texas
  • Brad Weiner, Fairfax County Public Schools, VA
  • Brock McMullen, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, WI

Awards Committee

The charge of the Awards Committee includes soliciting, screening and recommending individuals for NCPEID awards to the Executive Committee and Board of Directors.  Awards Committee is also responsible for the awards ceremony at the annual program.

  • Samantha Ross (Chair), West Virginia University, WV
  • Matthew Patey, Bridgewater State University, MA
  • Beth Foster, West Chester University, PA
  • Myung Ha (Mason) Sur, University of South Carolina University, SC
  • Vacant

Policy and Advocacy Committee

The charge of the Advocacy Committee includes promoting legislation favorable for physical education, physical activity and recreation for individuals with disabilities at the federal level. In addition, the Advocacy Committee serves as a resource to persons at the state and local levels. Furthermore, the Advocacy Committee works with other professional organizations and aims to develop and maintain an effective infrastructure of members for advocacy within as many states as possible.

  • Suzanna Dillon (Co-Chair), Texas Woman's University, TX
  • Brad Weiner (Co-Chair), Fairfax County Public Schools, VA
  • Andy Colombo-Dougovito (Chair), University of North Texas, TX
  • Beth Foster, West Chester University, PA
  • Michael Laughlin, Southern Connecticut State University, CT
  • Aubrey Shaw, University of Idaho, ID 
  • Sally Taunton, University of South Carolina, SC

Membership Committee

The charge of the Membership Committee includes devising, implementing and evaluating strategies to enhance the membership base. These strategies may include scholarly activities, as well as, membership benefits management.

  • Melissa Bittner (Chair), California State University Long Beach, CA
  • Heidi Ambrosius, Moreno Valley USD
  • Danielle Musser, Colorado Meza
  • Jaehun Jung, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
  • Layne Case, California State University, Chico

Nominations and Elections Committee

The charge of the Nominations and Elections Committee includes seeking members who are willing to be nominated and run for election for the position available. Responsibilities also include securing a docket of nominations, conducting the elections, and reporting the results.

  • Amanda Young (Chair), California State University Long Beach, CA
  • Kayla AbrahamsonWest Virginia University, WV
  • Ross Jordan, The Ohio State University, OH

Annual Program Planning Committee

The charge of the Annual Program Planning Committee includes planning, conducting and evaluating all aspects of the annual summer conference.