Currently Elected Officers

The governing body for NCPEID is comprised of a 5-member Executive Committee and a 10-member Board of Directors. Included within this governing body are the president, immediate past president or president-elect, vice president, treasurer, secretary, four members at-large, historian, APENS chair, awards chair, research consortium chair, and two student representatives.

Executive Committee

Deborah R. Shapiro, PhD

NCPEID President (2022-2024)

Professor, Georgia State University

[email protected]




Iva Obrusnikova, PhD, CAPE

NCPEID President-Elect

Professor, University of Delaware

[email protected]



Michelle Grenier, PhD, CAPE

NCPEID Past President (2020-2022)

Professor Emeritus, University of New Hampshire

Adjunct Professor, University of South Carolina

 [email protected] 


 Pamela Beach, PhD

NCPEID Vice President (2022-2024)

Professor, State University of New York Brockport

[email protected]



Adam Pennell, PhD, CAPE

Treasurer (2022-2026)

Assistant Professor, Pepperdine University

adam[email protected]


 Alexandra Stribing, PhD

 Secretary (2022-2023)

 Assistant Professor, Kean University

[email protected]

Board of Directors


NCPEID Member at Large

Melissa Bittner, PhD

NCPEID Member at Large (2019-2022)

Assistant Professor, California State University, Long Beach

[email protected]



Amanda Young, PhD, CAPE

NCPEID Member at Large (2020-2022)

Assistant Professor, California State University, Long Beach

[email protected] 



Andrew Pitchford, PhD, CAPE   

NCPEID Member at Large (2022-2024)

Assistant Professor, Oregon State University

[email protected]


Layne (Laynie) Case, PhD

NCPEID Member at Large

Assistant Professor, California State University, Chico

[email protected]



Ross D. Jordan

NCPEID Student Representative (2022-2024)

The Ohio State University

[email protected]



Wellington De Luna Vazquez

NCPEID Student Representative (2023-2025)

Georgia State University

[email protected]


TDavisphoto2.jpg - 1.73 MbTimothy D. Davis, PhD, CAPE

NCPEID APENS Chair (2020-2024)

Associate Professor, State University of New York Cortland

[email protected]



Scott McNamara, PhD, CAPE

NCPEID Historian (2023-2025)

Assistant Professor, University of New Hampshire

[email protected]



Suzanna Dillon, PhD, CAPE

Policy and Advocacy Committee Co-Chair (2022-2025)

Professor, Texas Woman's University

[email protected]



Beth Foster, PhD, CAPE

NCPEID Research Chair (2022-2023)

Associate Professor, West Chester University, PA

[email protected]



Samantha Ross, PhD

NCPEID Awards Chair (2023-2026)

Assistant Professor, West Virginia University

[email protected]


Kayla Abrahamson

NCPEID Social Media Chair

West Virginia University

[email protected] 



Myung Ha (Mason) Sur, PhD

NCPEID Website Manager

Clinical Assistant Professor, University of South Carolina

[email protected]





Past Presidents

Numerous prominent leaders in the academic disciplines of Adapted Physical Education/Activity and Therapeutic Recreation have served as president of the Consortium. Many of these past presidents are authors of the scholarly textbooks and significant research/demonstration projects that serve as the foundations for effective physical activity and recreation programming for individuals with disabilities.