Claudine Sherrill Lifetime Achievement Award


The Claudine Sherrill Lifetime Achievement Award is designated for senior scholars/professionals with at least 20 years of service in the field of adapted physical activity (APA) or adapted physical education (APE). Dr. Claudine Sherrill, also known by many as the “Mother of Adapted Physical Activity,” dedicated her life to the field of APA and APE.

Purpose: To recognize an exceptional professional who has contributed to the field(s) of APA/APE through longstanding efforts in teaching, scholarship, and service.

Individuals nominated must be/have been highly active members of the APA/APE community as displayed through exemplary service, scholarship, teaching, as evidenced by the following indices:

  1. CV
  2. Two (2) student’s testimonials (current or past)
  3. Two (2) peer letters of support
  4. Personal statement addressing the pillars of the award described below.

Pillars of the Award:

  1. Teaching –
    1. Exemplary teaching and mentoring of graduate students in the areas of APA or APE as evidence by two student’s testimonials and two peer letters throughout years of service in the field.
  2. Scholarship –
    1. Scholarship related to APA or APE including but not limited to; evidence-based research, practitioner journals, books, book chapters, state, national, and/or international presentations, internal or external grant submissions, applications or funding, keynote speakerships, and/or invited lecturer.
  3. Service –
    1. Outstanding leadership in state, national, and international professional organizations for the benefit of APA/APE.
      • Required current membership in NCPEID for a minimum of 10 years in total.
      • Other areas of service can include professional organizational leadership, editor or editorial board service to a professional journal, advocacy, and/or community-based programing.


The recipient will receive complimentary registration and will be asked to be an invited presenter at the annual conference (starting 2024).

2023 Claudine Sherrill Lifetime Achievement Award Winner: Jeffrey A. McCubbin