David P. Beaver APA Professional Young Scholar Award

A written statement and vita needs to be provided that documents to what extent the nominee has demonstrated a strong dedication to the adapted physical activity profession and the scholarly efforts to disseminate their work to the public. 

About the Award: The APA Professional Young Scholar Award was established in 2015, in memory of and to honor David P. Beaver, Founder and long time Editor-in-Chief of Palaestra who passed away in 2014. Throughout his career David prided himself on encouraging and nurturing young scholars in their first attempts at publications – often through Palaestra. New scholars often sent David manuscripts to be considered for publication in Palaestra. David and his wife Phyllis gently guided these young scholars serving as a tutor for proper grammar, APA formatting, and generally writing for publication. Nothing brought David more joy than helping young scholars publish and contribute to the profession. This award will be presented once per year in recognition of Dr. David Beaver.

Award: The award includes a complimentary one-year membership to NCPEID and plaque of honor (or achievement) indicating official and perpetual recognition by NCPEID. In addition, the award recipient is invited to submit a paper, of their choosing, to Paleastra for publication.

Applicant Criteria

  1. Is a recent graduate/early career (within 7 years post graduation)
  2. Demonstrates strong dedication to the future of adapted physical education/activity, evident through professional activities, and information dissemination.
  3. Displays record of scholarship or related activity including but not limited to research publications, teaching publications, presentations, or in-services
  4. Has significant service/advocacy contributions to local and/or national efforts indicating an emerging national reputation (something to indicate above and beyond their time in APA profession)

Nomination Requirements 

  1. Curriculum vitae or resume of the applicant
  2. A minimum of one letter of support from a faculty or other professional in the field of APE/ APA (e.g., principals, superintendents, post-docs, industry professionals)

2023 David P. Beaver Previous Award Winner: Melissa D. Bittner

Previous Award Winners (2015-)

  • Wesley Wilson (2022)
  • Scott McNamara (2021)
  • Cathy McKay (2020)
  • Ali Brian (2019)
  • Jihyun Lee (2018)
  • Sean Healy (2017)
  • Megan MacDonald (2016)
  • Justin Haegele (2015)